First Ever Shortlisting

After a weekend of very little photography, this week is proving to be a good week.

As I posted on Twitter yesterday, I’ve had my first shortlisting putting me into the final round of a photography competition. The competition is ‘only’ a works photography competition but seeing as I work for a large corperate, I could have been up against a reasonable number of competitors. I don’t actually know anyone else that entered so I don’t know the kind of competition I was up against but I’m still over the moon.

The photo is “Caught In Action” listed in the August Favourites, but here it is again for reference:


CaughtInAction

Anticipation - 220mm f/5.6 1/320s

When I was contacted letting me know I had been shortlisted, they requested a title for the image along with brief descriptions, where it was taken, a full resolution file and the original RAW file. I had a last minute change of mind with the title and “Caught In Action” became “Anticipation”. I’m still not sure this was the right change but’s to late now. The brief description I gave was –

The dog was happily chasing a tennis ball being thrown my it’s owner along the seashore. It had 100% focus and commitment to the task in hand. The image was capture as the dog has set off in anticipation of yet another iteration of this wonderfully simple game.

Being asked for the original RAW file has got me a little nervous that I might have gone to far with the post processing; I assume it was requested to validate the processing. The rules of the competition stated that minor adjustments were permitted – cropping, exposure adjustment etc. but no advanced editting was permitted. The only changes that I made were cropping, sharpening and boosting colours so I think I should be well within the rules.

I’m keeping my fingers crossed and can’t wait to hear the final results.

Also this week, I’ve attended my first photography club night at the Guildford Photographic Society. Before going I was apprehensive of the unknown but was keen to give it a try. It was the clubs first meet after a summer break and the night generally seemed to be a bit of a catch up from the summer with a number of member images being displayed. The images seem to be quite varied in quality so I don’t think I’m going to be totally out of my depth but some of the images were really very good so I have no doubt I’ll be able to learn a huge amount if I continue to attend.

The people that I spoke to were all friendly and I plan to go back again next week before making my final decision on whether I would like to become a member of the club. At the moment, I think it’s highly likely that I’ll join as it will be a great platform for me to get further involved in the photography community.

Leave a Reply

