Further HDR Experiments – Enfuse

Following the post last sunday, I decided to try and do some digging to see if I could find some tutorials for using the Luminance HDR application. I didn’t really come across anything and as I was playing with it, I was getting more and more furustrated with how slow it was.

During my search, I came across references to another free HDR application, enfuse. So for the last day or so, I’ve been playing with this and had some more positive experiences.

Enfuse is only a command line application. If you aren’t sure what I mean by a command line application, Enfuse may not be for you but if you do, I’ve found it to be a very effective application for producing realistic looking HDR images, quickly and conveniently. The downside of it being a command line application is that it doesn’t have a user interface allowing you to move sliders and visualize effects. However, so far, I’ve only been using the default application setting and I’ve been happy with the results.

Seeing as I’d been playing with Luminance HDR and Enfuse, I thought it only fair to take the input files and give Photomatrix another try. From the experiences I’ve had over the last week, I think I’d make the following recommendations with regards to HDR processing:

  • If you’re comfortable with running command line applications and want to produce realistic looking HDR images quickly, have a good look at Enfuse.
  • If you want the convinience of a user interface or want to produce creative “Harry Potter” style HDR’s, I think photomatrix is probably the way to go.

Note: I’ve only tried the three applications mentioned.

The final HDR images that I’ve produced from this testing are here:

logs

pillbox

Leave a Reply

