Trying out iPadography

Liverpool Cathedral Eagle

Recently, I’ve been trying out different photo editing software to see if there is anything easier to use than the very capable, and free, The Gimp. So far, I’ve tried CaptureNx 2 and next up is the plan to finally try Photoshop.

At the same time I’ve also been getting more convinced at the usefulness of an iPad. As an iPhone owner, I’ve always been convinced that I had no need for an iPad. The two things that started to change my mind was the purchasing of Apples camera connection kit, for my wifes ipad, that allows you to download images from an SD card onto the ipad and then the exceptional app, Snapseed.

The Camera Connection Kit was brilliant to have whilst on Holiday. Not having to wait until you get home to start viewing your images was brilliant. It takes one of the advantages of digital over film to the next level. But this obviously leads to the next stage of the photographers workflow and that’s the digital dark room, which is where Snapseed came in.

Snapseed is made by the same developers as CaptureNx 2 and has there unique upoint technology. It makes editing images incredibly easy. Using the iPad, it’s possible to correct white balance, crop, selectively brighten and sharpen etc. by just pointing clicking and dragging sliders around.

So, I was already well into the thought of using the iPad to quickly provide minor edits to my photos when I went to a presentation at Guildford Photographic Society by Gordon Fraser. Gordon is the author of http://inologist.com/ and has taken the step to completely move his workflow over to Apples iOS devices. Seeing the results that Gordon is producing using his iPhone and iOS apps to produce his images has inspired me to continue investigating the use of iOS apps not only for the quick and minor edits but possibly as a replacement to anything such as GIMP or Photoshop.

Here are a couple examples of images edited using the iPad (note that they’ve been resized in GIMP for upload although this could have been done on the ipad I’ve already transferred them to my PC), with more available on Flickr:

Liverpool Cathedral Stain Glass

This image is from inside Liverpool Cathedral. When taking the image I left the white balance on auto which produced heavy reds. Using Snapseed, I corrected the white balance, increased the brightness and contrast and applied some additional sharpening.

Liverpool Cathedral Organ

Again this image was taken inside the Cathedral. It had similar adjustments to the previous image and then it was opened in another iOS app, Dramatic HD, to give the dramatic Black and White.

As a final note, although I plan to continue investigating processing images on the iPad, I’m not yet convinced to give up the D7000 to solely use my iPhone even though I am convinced I should give the iPhone a chance when it’s not convinient to have the DSLR with me.

Leave a Reply

